Two weeks… Two weeks… Two weeks

Well, I just picked up my Visa, so this seems as good a time as any to start this thing. For those of you just tuning in, I'm going to Japan in a couple of weeks. For a year. To teach for these guys. As you might imagine, I'm getting a bit nervous (putting it mildly).

I'm going to be living in Osaka. I was hoping for Tokyo, so that's a bit disappointing. But then again, I just read this in a guidebook I recently purchased, which makes me feel a tad better:

"Osaka is famous for its food and its citizens are known to the rest of Japan as Kuidaore, or those who will eat to physical and financial ruin."

Sounds like my kind of place.

Anyhoo, I'm leaving on the 23rd, so you can expect some more updates soon after that (assuming, of course, that I have access to the internet).

Leave a Reply

